T’was the night before Christmas…

and all through the house….I was making a mess with my gingerbread house.  After getting inspired by Heather’s gingerbread house contest (She won by the way!!), I decided to crack open the kit that Gricell gave me and make my own.  Let’s just say this time was not as easy as the gingerbread houses I made with the girls at Emma’s birthday celebration.  To start with one side of my house was missing.  I had to improvise and make a wall of cardboard.  Here are pictures of my endeavors.  I will let them tell the story.

gb2 gb3

gb4 gbhouse

But let’s take a step back.  Before I got started on the gingerbread house MESS, I made peppermint bark.  I have never made it before, but it is so easy and turned out to be heavenly!  Heather, when I say easy…I mean even you could make it with no problems!!  Here are the pictures from that.

pb1 pb2

pb3 pb4

gma

This last one is G-ma not wanting to share. lol  If you are interested in making the peppermint bark, I used a package of the vanilla flavored almond bark and 9 candy canes.  (You are supposed to use 10, but David a.k.a. the human garbage disposal ate one of them.)  Smash up the candy canes – not into powder (I had my dad smash them up with a mallet.  Helpful hint…peppermint discs do not smash easily – go for the candy canes!).  Melt the almond bark in a microwave safe bowl for twenty second intervals – make sure you stir it each time with a dry spoon.  Mix in the peppermint.  Spread it out on a wax paper covered cookie sheet and refrigerate for 20 minutes.  When you take it out, just break it up into small pieces.  Voila!

Well dahlings!  I am off to wrap up a few last minute gifts.  =)  I hope you all had a lovely Christmas Eve and I wish you all a very Merry Christmas!  I can’t wait to see what Santa brings me and everyone else!

One response to “T’was the night before Christmas…

Leave a comment